Fáilte go mBaile Eachaidh CLG, Wolfe Tone

Welcome to the official website of Bellaghy Wolfe Tones GAC. The club exists to celebrate, promote and participate in the cultural and sporting activities of the Gaelic Athletic Association (Cumann Lúthchleas Gael). To that end the club has been officially participating in Gaelic Games since it's foundation in 1939. We regularly enter teams in Football, Camogie and Scór at all age ranges.

We have had a good degree of success both within and without County Derry since we won our first Senior League in 1947. Since then, our record in the Derry Championship has been mercurial and to this date the sheer scale of achievement has remained unsurpassed within Derry. Since our first Championship victory in 1956 we have gone on to win twenty-one Derry titles, four Ulster victories and one All-Ireland. 

The great teams of the late fifties, sixties and seventies won championship after championship, winning fourteen in total between 1956 and 1979. It was during this golden era that the crowning glory of the club's achievement was realised when the 1972 team won the All Ireland Club Championship, defeating UCC in the final. 

Two more county titles were to follow in the seventies, in 1975 and 1979 before a single win in the eighties in 1986. 

The ninties began a new era of domination within Derry for the senior football team with Championship wins in 1994, 1996 and the three-in-a-row between 1998 and 2000. The team of 1994 came the closest to repeating the feat of the men of '72 when they were defeated by Kilmacud Crokes in the All-Ireland club final on St. Patricks Day, 1995. The last Championship victory for the club came in 2005 when Ciarán McNally captained the side to an Ulster Final where they were ultimately beaten by a St.Gall's team managed by our current manager, John Rafferty. 

Notwithstanding this, the club continues to rebuild and to work towards getting into a strong position for the future. With a number of very talented players coming through the underage system we can look to the future with genuine hope and excitement. We have a strong history of bringing the talented players from the underage system into the senior system and in the years to come will focus every effort in continuing to do so. 

In terms of Camogie, the club won the Derry camogie title in 1996 and continue to participate in Derry camogie at all age levels. We have a strong and vibrant camogie club which has had a good number of Derry players and All-Stars throughout the years. 

We have been participating in Scór for some time and as recently as 2012 the club instrumental group, consisting of Edel Quinn (Fiddle), Fergal Quinn (Bodhrán), Hannah McAuley (Guitar) and Máiréad Hughes (Tin Whistle) triumphed in the All-Ireland Scór. This was a great achievement for the club and the first time that we have enjoyed a success of that magnitude in the Scór. 



Roll of Honour

All-Ireland Senior Club Football Championship: 1972

All-Ireland Kilmacud Crokes Sevens: 1986, 2002

Ulster Senior Club Football Championship: 1968, 1971, 1994, 2000

Derry Senior Football Championship: 1956, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1975, 1979, 1986, 1994, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2005

Derry Senior Football League: 1947, 1986, 1994, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2004

Derry Intermediate Football Championship: 1990

Derry Junior Football Championship: 1962 (Bellaghy II's)

Graham Cup: 2000, 2004

Larkin Cup: 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008

Thirds Championship: 2007


Ulster Club Minor Football Championship: 1991, 1994

Derry Minor Football Championship: 1953, 1954, 1955, 1957, 1961, 1963, 1973, 1991, 1994

Derry Minor Football League: 1993, 1994

Derry Minor B League: 2008


Derry U16 Football Championship: 1960, 1981, 1990, 2003

South Derry U16 Football Championship: 1960, 1981, 1990, 2003

South Derry U16 Football League: 1988

Derry U16 Football Shield: 2008


Derry Feile na nÓg: 1998, 2001, 2010, 2013

Derry U14 Football Championship: 2001, 2013

South Derry U14 Football Championship: 1995, 1998, 2001

South Derry U14 Football League: 1979, 1994, 1998, 2001, 2013

South Derry 'B' U14 Football Championship: 2005, 2010

South Derry 'B' U14 Football League: 2005, 2010